About Lions Club of Central

History and Establishment

Lions Club of Central was chartered on 1st July 1992. The club originated from the Lioness Club of Hong Kong (Host) established in 1979, which provided the main source of our charter members. Our Club is one of the all-female Lions Clubs under the Lions Clubs International District 303 Hong Kong & Macau, China . There are over twenty members from various professions and trades like education, manufacturing and trading, food & beverage, jewelry, insurance, medical service & executives. We share the common goal of serving the community especially the elderly. We offer our caring and loving service to the people in need.

In the year 1998-99, our past president Lion Judy Sin was elected the first female District Governor of Lions  Clubs International District 303 Hong Kong & Macau, China. This is a glorious moment not only for our club, but also for the female members of the District. Numerous past presidents of our club have served our District as Cabinet Officers or Committee Chairpersons.

In the year 1998, the Leo Club of Central was sponsored by our club. More than thirty young persons from high schools and universities or in the early years of their career paths joined hands in service. We hope to train them to be future leaders. They learn to plan their own fund-raising and service projects to serve the needy people. The Lions Club of Central provide them with the necessary administration fees and guidance.

Lions Club of Central gave birth to three other Lions Clubs. In the year 2000, with our sponsorship and support, the Lions Club of Millennium was chartered. Subsequently, in 2004-05, two more clubs, namely the Lions Club of Causeway Bay and the Lions Club of Mid-Levels, were chartered under our sponsorship.

有關中區獅子會

成立及歷史

香港中區獅子會於1992年7月1日創會,大部份會員源自香港主會女獅子會(成立於1979年),乃國際獅子總會中國港澳三O三區屬下一個全女性會員之獅子會,共有二十多位會員。本會會員均是傑出專業婦女,服務於不同行業,有教育界、工商界、餐飲業、珠寶業、保險業,醫療界及行政人員等。本會創會宗旨為服務社群,特別為有需要之長者服務,給予關懷與愛心。

本會冼姵璇前會長於一九九八至一九九九年度當選為中國港澳三O三區第一位女性區總監,實為中國港澳婦女之光榮。多位前會長亦獲委任為國際獅子總會中國港澳三O三區歷屆區職員或區委員會主席,為三O三區服務。

本會於1998年成立中區青年獅子會,會員有三十多人,分別是就讀於香港之高中及大學或初就業之年青人,培訓他們成為未來的領袖,學習及策劃為社會有需要的人士服務,行政費用由本會贊助。

本會於2000年度贊助香港千禧獅子會創會,2004-05年度分別贊助銅鑼灣獅子會和半山獅子會創會,成為三個子會的贊助母會。